Ny trummis i Dreamtheater är...

... Mike Mangini från Annihilator, Steve Vai med flera!



Uttalande från Mike:

"The day that I got the phone call to be in DREAM THEATER, it took my brain a minute to assemble what was going on, and when it sank in, the feeling was just of tremendous relief. It means so much to me, I almost felt like crying a couple of times. [Laughs] I didn't know what to do. What it means to me to be part of not only such a legendary band, but this band, is a sense of fulfillment and purpose. I feel like a puzzle piece, and with Mike [Portnoy] in particular, I feel really honored to carry on the torch for him; I'm carrying on his spirit."

Mangini kom med i Annihilator 1991 och var med på skivan "Set The World On Fire" innan han några år senare började med bandet Extreme. Jobben gick sedan Han har också skrivit två böcker om komplexa trumtekniker.



Uttalande från bandet:

Jordan Rudess (keyboard): "The thing that stands about Mike Mangini is that he [plays] with such intensity and direction and power, and that was very engaging. It was hard to totally decide; you can't just say, 'OK, it's him and write off some other guy, because they're both incredible."

John Petrucci (gitarr): "We unknowingly used a method that we use when we write music, which is, 'Just hear out my side.' During that discussion, we kind of came to some conclusions, we hashed things out, and at the end of the discussion, it was clear. We made a decision."

John Myung (bas): "A lot of it was just how felt with each particular drummer. It turned out that we were kind of all on the same page as to who we needed to carry on. I think it was meant to be."
______________________

Mike Portnoy's, som var en av grundarna till Dreamtheater, plötsliga avhopp från Dreamtheater förra året gjordes när han var på turné med Avenged Sevenfold. Det var tydligen inte hans mening först att hoppa av bandet utan ville göra ett break i första hand. Dock så kan jag förstå bandet att de ville forsätta. Del av Portnoys statement:

"I am about to write something I never imagined I'd ever write. After 25 years, I have decided to leave DREAM THEATER... the band I founded, led and truly loved for a quarter of a century. To many people this will come as a complete shock, and will also likely be misunderstood by some, but please believe me that it is not a hasty decision...it is something I have struggled with for the last year or so...."

För att läsa hela, läs mer här.

Här är en av de första livevideona där Avenged Sevenfold kör med Portnoy.



Dock så slutade han även i Avenged Sevenfold bara några månader efter avhoppet från Dreamtheater. Det blir nog ganska intressant hur dessa medlemsbyten utvecklar sig. :-)

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0